Posts From Davlatyor

How stress affects your brain

Stress isn’t always a bad thing; it can be handy for a burst of extra energy and focus, like when you’re playing a competitive sport or have to speak in public. But when it’s continuous, it actually begins to change

Read More

How drawing can set you free

Who are you? To answer this question, artist Shantell Martin followed her pen. In this brilliantly visual talk featuring her signature freestyle line work — drawn across everything from the screens of Times Square to the bodies of New York

Read More

What causes insomnia?

What keeps you up at night? Pondering deep questions? Excitement about a big trip? Stress about unfinished work? What if the very thing keeping you awake was stress about losing sleep? This seemingly unsolvable loop is at the heart of

Read More

What is obesity?

Mia Nacamulli Obesity is an escalating global epidemic. It substantially raises the probability of diseases like diabetes, heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure, and cancer. But what is the distinction between being overweight and being obese? And how does a

Read More

Why should you read Charles Dickens?

Iseult Gillespie The starving orphan seeking a second helping of gruel. The spinster wasting away in her tattered wedding dress. The stone-hearted miser plagued by the ghost of Christmas past. More than a century after his death, these remain recognizable

Read More

What is depression?

Helen M. Farrell Depression is the leading cause of disability in the world. In the United States, nearly 10% of adults struggle with depression. But since this is a mental illness, it is more difficult to deal with it than,

Read More

How to save a language from extinction

Daniel Bögre Udell As many as 3,000 languages could disappear within the next 80 years, all but silencing entire cultures. In this quick talk, language activist Daniel Bögre Udell shows how people around the world are finding new ways to

Read More

The power of the placebo effect

Emma Bryce The placebo effect is an unexplained phenomenon in which drugs and treatments that shouldn’t work — and are often fake — miraculously improve people’s well-being. What’s going on? Emma Bryce delves into the mystery of the placebo’s bizarre

Read More

The Dark Side of Happiness

June Gruber Yale psychologist June Gruber asks whether, in a culture obsessed with pursuing happiness, it’s possible to have too much of a good thing.

Read More

How language shapes the way we think

Lera Boroditsky There are about 7,000 languages spoken around the world — and they all have different sounds, vocabularies and structures. But do they shape the way we think? Cognitive scientist Lera Boroditsky shares examples of language — from an

Read More

Posts From Davlatyor

Что вызывает бессонницу?

Не можете спать по ночам?Ломаете себе голову над чем-либо?Волнение перед большой поездкой?Беспокоитесь из-за незаконченной работы?А может это не дает Вам уснуть – ваши же беспокойство о потери сна?На самом деле беспокойство составляет основу бессонницы. Так что же такое бессонница? Дэн

Read More

Что такое ожирение?

МИА Накамулли Ожирение-это растущая глобальная эпидемия. Это существенно повышает вероятность таких заболеваний, как диабет, болезни сердца, инсульт, высокое кровяное давление и рак. Но в чем разница между избыточным весом и ожирением? А как человек толстеет? МИА Накамулли исследует ожирение. Урок

Read More

Зачем читать Чарльза Диккенса?

Голодная сирота просит своего хозяина снова дать кашу. Девушка всю жизнь проводит в изношенном свадебном платье. Бессердечный скупец попытается избавляться от духа прошедшего Рождества. Несмотря на то, что со дня смерти писателя прошло уже более ста лет, герои Чарльза Диккенса

Read More

Что такое депрессия?

Хелен М. Фаррелл Депрессия — главная причина нетрудоспособности в мире. В Соединённых Штатах почти 10% взрослого населения борется с депрессией. Но так как это психическая болезнь, с ней труднее разобраться, чем, скажем, с повышенным уровнем холестерина. Хелен М. Фаррелл исследует

Read More

Как спасти язык от исчезновения

Даниэль Бёгре Уделл Целых 3000 языков могут исчезнуть в течение следующих 80 лет, почти заставляя замолчать целые культуры. В этом кратком выступлении языковой активист Даниэль Бёгре Уделл показывает, как люди во всем мире находят новые способы возродить языки предков и

Read More

Сила эффекта плацебо

Эмма Брайс Эффект плацебо — это необъяснимый феномен, при котором лекарства и методы лечения, которые по идее не должны действовать — и часто являются фальшивками, — чудесным образом улучшают самочувствие людей. Что же происходит? Эмма Брайс углубляется в загадку причудливых

Read More

Темная сторона счастья

Джун Грубер Психолог из Йельского университета Джун Грубер спрашивает, возможно ли в культуре, одержимой стремлением к счастью, иметь слишком много хорошего.

Read More

Как язык формирует наш образ мышления

Лера Бородицкая В мире говорят примерно на 7000 языков, и все они имеют разные звуки, словарный запас и структуру. Но влияют ли они на то, как мы думаем? Ученый-когнитивист Лера Бородицкая делится примерами языка – от сообщества аборигенов в Австралии,

Read More